Login

Comann Chlann Dòmhnaill na Gàidhealtachd ìs nan Eilean

Mission Statement

To create a focus for people who belong to Scotland’s largest clan, which includes Macdonalds of Sleat, Clanranald, and Glencoe and MacDonalds/MacDonells of Glengarry, Keppoch and Antrim.

Enquiries about any of the events below should be directed to the Secretary at contact@clandonald.org

Forthcoming Events 2016

Saturday 13th February - Commemoration of the Massacre of Glencoe. 11am Service in St Mary's Church, 12 noon march to memorial and ceremony. Lunch afterwards at the Glencoe Hotel. Reservations via the Secretary.

Saturday 5th March - 11am CDSH&I Commemoration of the birth of Major General Sir Hector Macdonald at Mitchell Hill Cemetry, Dingwall. All welcome.

Friday 15th April  Possibly an AHCS evening event.

Saturday 16th April - Commemoration of the Battle of Culloden. 11am Gaelic Society of Inverness Service at the Main Cairn, followed by laying of wreaths at Clan Donald Stones and a lunch at the Drumossie Hotel, for which booking is essential. Contact Lois MacDonell of Glengarry at contact@clandonald.org or 23 Castle Street, Fortrose, IV10 8TH Click here for full details and booking form in printable pdf format.

Monday 2nd May 7.30 pm CDSH&I AGM at the Dunbar Centre, Church Street, Inverness.

Saturday 16th July Inverness Highland Games, Bught Park, Inverness.

Wednesday 27th July Arisaig Highland Games.

Saturday 20th August 11.30 am Glenfinnan Highland Games.

September/October Society's Annual outing (date yet to be decided).

Saturday 3rd December 7.30 pm - 11.30 pm Clan Donald Ceilidh in Munlochy Hall, Ross-shire. All welcome, BYOB.

Recent Events

Saturday 16th January - Commemoration of the 270th anniversary of the Battle of Falkirk by the 1745 Association.

Wednesday 13th January - CDSH&I Academic lecture. Professor Stewart Angus presented "Lady Penelope's chateau and its canals - the history of Caisteal Ormacleit, South Uist." A summary of the lecture can be found here.

Saturday 5 December - CDSH&I Annual Ceilidh in the  Munlochy Village Hall, Ross-shire. The entertainment of Dancing, Piping, Raffle was well received as were the light refreshments.

Friday 13 November - Commemoration of the 300th anniversary of the Battle of Sheriffmuir (organised by the Association of Highland Clans and Societies).

Wednesday 21st October - "Hector", play about Sir Hector Macdonald - "Fighting Mac" , at Empire Theatre, Eden Court, Inverness.

Saturday 17 October - Lowering of the Canadian flag at the Sir John A Macdonald cairn in Rogart, Sutherland.

Thursday 24 to Saturday 26 September - Society's outing to Ardnamurchan and Kinlochmoidart.

Friday 7 August - Strathpeffer, Ross-shire, Blair-na-Pairc, Battle of Park: visit to battle site, seminar, march, re-enactment and act of reconciliation between the Chiefs of Clan Mackenzie and Clan Donald, followed by a ceilidh.