Login

Comann Chlann Dòmhnaill na Gàidhealtachd ìs nan Eilean

Mission Statement

To create a focus for people who belong to Scotland’s largest clan, which includes Macdonalds of Sleat, Clanranald, and Glencoe and MacDonalds/MacDonells of Glengarry, Keppoch and Antrim.

Enquiries about any of the events below should be directed to the Secretary at contact@clandonald.org

Forthcoming Events 2016

Monday 2nd May 7.30 pm CDSH&I AGM, raffle and entertainment at the Dunbar Centre, Church Street, Inverness. Please bring a small raffle prize.

Saturday 16th July Inverness Highland Games, Bught Park, Inverness.

Wednesday 27th July Arisaig Highland Games.

Saturday 20th August 11.30 am Glenfinnan Highland Gathering.

September/October Society's Annual outing (date yet to be decided).

Saturday 3rd December 7.30 pm - 11.30 pm Clan Donald Ceilidh in Munlochy Hall, Ross-shire. All welcome, BYOB.

Recent Events

Saturday 16th April - Commemoration of the Battle of Culloden. 11am Gaelic Society of Inverness Service at the Main Cairn, followed by laying of wreaths at Clan Donald Stones and a lunch at the Drumossie Hotel.

Saturday 5th March - CDSH&I Commemoration of the birth of Major General Sir Hector Macdonald at Mitchell Hill Cemetry, Dingwall.

Saturday 13th February - Commemoration of the Massacre of Glencoe. The Service at 11am in St Mary's Church, was followed, at 12 noon, with a march to the memorial and a ceremony of wreath laying. Lunch afterwards in the Glencoe Hotel was a very welcome respite from the very cold wind in sunny conditions.

Saturday 16th January - Commemoration of the 270th anniversary of the Battle of Falkirk by the 1745 Association.

Wednesday 13th January 2016 - CDSH&I Academic lecture. Professor Stewart Angus presented "Lady Penelope's chateau and its canals - the history of Caisteal Ormacleit, South Uist." A summary of the lecture can be found here.

Saturday 5 December 2015 - CDSH&I Annual Ceilidh in the  Munlochy Village Hall, Ross-shire. The entertainment of Dancing, Piping, Raffle was well received as were the light refreshments.

Friday 13 November - Commemoration of the 300th anniversary of the Battle of Sheriffmuir (organised by the Association of Highland Clans and Societies).

Wednesday 21st October - "Hector", play about Sir Hector Macdonald - "Fighting Mac" , at Empire Theatre, Eden Court, Inverness.

Saturday 17 October - Lowering of the Canadian flag at the Sir John A Macdonald cairn in Rogart, Sutherland.

Thursday 24 to Saturday 26 September - Society's outing to Ardnamurchan and Kinlochmoidart.

Friday 7 August - Strathpeffer, Ross-shire, Blair-na-Pairc, Battle of Park: visit to battle site, seminar, march, re-enactment and act of reconciliation between the Chiefs of Clan Mackenzie and Clan Donald, followed by a ceilidh.

Click on icon to open our Facebook page.