Login

Comann Chlann Dòmhnaill na Gàidhealtachd ìs nan Eilean

Mission Statement

To create a focus for people who belong to Scotland’s largest clan, which includes Macdonalds of Sleat, Clanranald, and Glencoe and MacDonalds/MacDonells of Glengarry, Keppoch and Antrim.

Enquiries about any of the events below should be directed to the Secretary at contact@clandonald.org

Forthcoming Events 2016

Thursday 1st September Professor Trevor Royle will be speaking on "Culloden: Scotland's Last Battle and the Forging of the British Empire" in the Chapel at Fort George. 6.30pm This event includes a self-guided tour of the Highlanders' Museum and a glass of wine prior to the talk. Tickets £8, Under 18's £3 (£1 booking fee) can be obtained at https://nairnfestival.co.uk/events/writers-speakers/trevor-royle-fort-george or by calling the museum on 0131 310 8765. Details of the talk can be found here.

Friday 30th September Society's Annual Outing will be to Glencoe. Full details can be downloaded and printed here.

Saturday 3rd December 7.30 pm - 11.30 pm Clan Donald Ceilidh in Munlochy Hall, Ross-shire. All welcome, BYOB.

2017

Monday 13th February - Commemoration of the Massacre of Glencoe. The Service at 11am in St Mary's Church, is followed, at 12 noon, with a march to the memorial and a ceremony of wreath laying. Lunch afterwards will be in the Glencoe Hotel.

Saturday 4th March 11am Commemoration of the birth of Major-General Sir Hector Macdonald, held at Mitchell Hill Cemetery, Dingwall. All welcome.

Saturday 18th March Annual Lecture. Inverness. Lecturer - the Lord Lyon. Details of time, venue and title of the talk will follow.

Saturday 15th April Commemoration of the Battle of Culloden. 11am Gaelic Society of Inverness Service at the Main Cairn, followed by laying of wreaths at Clan Donald Stones and a lunch at the Drumossie Hotel.

Saturday 15th July Inverness Highland Games and Gala.

Recent Events

Saturday 16th July The Society was represented at the Inverness Highland Games.

Friday 3rd June 2016 Donald MacDonald Quaich (Piping competition), Clan Donald Skye. 7pm

Saturday 4th June 2016 Friends of Clan Donald Skye meeting, Armadale Castle. 4pm

Saturday 16th January 2016 - Commemoration of the 270th anniversary of the Battle of Falkirk by the 1745 Association.

Wednesday 13th January 2016 - CDSH&I Academic lecture. Professor Stewart Angus presented "Lady Penelope's chateau and its canals - the history of Caisteal Ormacleit, South Uist." A summary of the lecture can be found here.

Friday 13 November 2015 - Commemoration of the 300th anniversary of the Battle of Sheriffmuir (organised by the Association of Highland Clans and Societies).

Wednesday 21st October 2015 - "Hector", play about Sir Hector Macdonald - "Fighting Mac" , at Empire Theatre, Eden Court, Inverness.

Friday 7 August 2015 - Strathpeffer, Ross-shire, Blair-na-Pairc, Battle of Park: visit to battle site, seminar, march, re-enactment and act of reconciliation between the Chiefs of Clan Mackenzie and Clan Donald, followed by a ceilidh.

Click on icon to open our Facebook page.